For Immediate Release.


CONTACT: Stephanie Page Duesing, 407-646-2203,


Rollins Honors Three Cornell Distinguished Scholars 


Winter Park, FL (February 19, 2007) - Rollins has granted three Cornell Distinguished Faculty Awards for the 2006-07 academic year. "Nominated by fellow faculty and chosen by a faculty committee, the recipients of the Cornell Distinguished Faculty Awards have displayed excellence in teaching, service and scholarship," said Hoyt Edge, interim dean of the faculty. "They represent the commitment that Rollins has to our students and our community."


This year, the following faculty members received this distinguished award:


Professor of English Bill Boles - Boles was instrumental in the success of the College's first-year programs, where he has served as coordinator of the Rollins Conference Course (RCC) Program. Last year, in several courses, Boles experimented with using blogs as part of his course requirements.


Associate Professor of Political Science Michael Gunter - Gunter teaches courses in international relations and environmental politics and is the author of the Sprout Award-nominated book, Building the Next Ark with Dartmouth College. He is spending this semester teaching as a Fulbright Scholar for the U.S. State Department in the Slovak Republic.


Associate Professor of Communication Lisa Tillman - Tillman created a new major for undergraduates called "Critical Media and Cultural Studies." She has taught six courses in the communications department and has created courses for the honors program. Tillman plans to use this award to complete her second book, Going Home: Gay Men's Identities, Families, and Communities.


Each year, the College presents up to three Cornell Distinguished Faculty Awards recognizing exceptional professional accomplishments in at least two of the faculty's three primary emphases of teaching, research and service. Because teaching is the first priority at Rollins, it is expected that all awardees will have established a record of excellence in instruction. With the exception of holders of endowed chairs, all tenured and tenure-track faculty in the College of Arts & Sciences are eligible for consideration.


Each Cornell Distinguished Faculty holds this title for three years. This is the third year of the program, and Rollins now has nine active Cornell Distinguished Scholars.


Founded in 1885, Rollins College is Florida's oldest recognized college, and is consistently ranked by U.S. News & World Report as one of "America's best colleges." Its Crummer Graduate School of Business is consistently ranked by Forbes magazine among the best business schools for return on investment and Forbes recently ranked the MBA program number one overall in Florida. For more information about Rollins, visit our Web site at



Stephanie Page Duesing
Office of Public Relations
1000 Holt Ave. 2729
Winter Park, FL 32789